Showing UP

Utah

Life was going to be fun. I had the dream of sitting at home in my PJs, just getting up and playing online. It was a grand plan to make tons of money and I would not have to leave my house to do it.

I’m sure you have heard of the sales pitch from the many blog trainers out there. They promise gold, tell you how you will be bringing in money while sitting on your couch and watching TV.

I hate to disappoint you; this is not going to be one of those posts. Yes, it’s a dream of us all as bloggers to sit at home and just watch the money come in. But you must do the work to get there.

My business changed when I decided to show up, get out and build it. I did three simple things that helped me build that following and I now have habits that bring in the results. Those three simple things are:

  1. Post something online that people are looking for. Too many coaches who come to work with me have the same message: they tell you how they coach and what they coach about. But people are not looking for a coach when they find you. They have been searching for the solution to a problem they’re experiencing; you need to reference that problem in your keywords so they will find your posts. Then, in your posts, you share how you fixed the problem.
  2. You have to get out of your house to connect. The idea of just putting a post on Facebook and waiting for the world to come running to you to buy your coaching services is a myth. You have to get out and attend live events like networking functions; you have to shake hands and get to know people. The most important thing I did to build the following and the clients I have was getting out and shaking hands, just like politicians do. When I attend a live event and start actually meeting people, that’s the key that connects me to them for long-term relationships.
  3. Time to be the real you. Turn off the salesy voice that is desperately trying to make the sale. You sound so much like you are NOT making any money at this. Well when people are looking to learn things that will lead to their success, they are looking for someone who has done what they want to do. Too many people in the world who are using marketing terms to attract aren’t being real. When people see the real you they can tell if you are not speaking from a position of experience. Start sharing the real things you have done, the real journey.

It’s time to be real. Your call to action is to make sure the people who are looking for help with a problem can connect with you because you are using the terms they are searching for. It’s time to get out of your house and connect to the real world.

RocknRoll SpeakerI’m Tim Gillette and I have created a system called Rock Around Your Blog. To find out more about how I help people build a blog and personal brand, check out www.TimGillette.com. While you’re there, be sure to download my free report called No More 9-5.

One thought on “Showing UP

Leave a Reply

