You Just Started, It takes time

IMG_3056I was thinking back to the first few days of starting my blog. It was five years ago and I read a link on my Facebook page from a friend who wrote some good words about the WordPress site. I didn’t know where I was going with my coaching, speaking or writing at the time that I noticed Brian had written this thing and posted it to his wall with a link.The link took me to a page on WordPress.com and from there I saw another link that said, “Would you like to start a blog?” I clicked it and wrote something.

That was five years ago this past week. Since then, my business page has moved to a self-hosted WordPress site. But I can tell you it was not a fast journey because I had so much to learn. So today, to help you get there faster, I thought I would share some points from my journey to help shorten your learning curve.

1. My blog did not take off until I began to post on a regular basis. At first I would post once a week. But I read a personal blog challenge that Steve Scott was putting himself through that made me think, “Why not post once a day for a year?” After one year had passed, I decided to keep going and take it to two years, and so on. It was when I made it a daily habit that my blog took off.  If you have no content on the web, a blog will help you get up in the Google searches faster than any SEO salesman can get you there.

2. Talk about things that matter to your potential customers. Too often I found myself writing posts about challenges I was facing that were not really learning points for the people I was trying to reach. When I changed my blogs so they told a story that transitioned into content or training, people could learn from my post. Plus, it was that kind of content that made readers think of my services when they were in need of taking what they learned to the next level.

3. Learn to make it personal. In my blogs, I let people know who I was and what was going on in my life. The more personal the story, the more my friends and family would share it. It took me close to a year to learn that. One of the biggest posts I had was a blog telling a story about my dad. I did that on what would have been his 71st birthday. I watched more friends, family, and people I grew up with share my post. It marked the first time more than 100 people came to read my blog in a single day. It was the personal story that generated that interest.

RocknRoll Speaker My challenge to you today is to make your blog personal. Let people see the real you. Use your stories to teach others about your products and services. And be consistent at doing it. Nothing will keep people coming back more than knowing they can count on you on a regular basis.

To find out more about how I help entrepreneurs rock in their businesses, check out my web page at www.TimGillette.com

5 thoughts on “You Just Started, It takes time

  1. Your points about making it personal and making it valuable to a reader really hit home. Thinking about the blogs I return to time and again, I see that they all have these common threads!

    Like

  2. Really like #2 Tim. Thanks for writing.
    Does it matter if the things (important to your customers) are not directly tied to your business or do you keep it centered on your business and then find common ground?

    Like

  3. No one is interested in learning for the sake of learning. People are interested in other people and their stories always inspire and serve as lessons for others. Love the idea of sharing stories in a blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

